Jamie Kirkland Art Studio

Let the beauty we love be what we do. ~Rumi ~


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My husband Ralph and I recently drove from Santa Fe to New Orleans, La and back with stops in Baton Rouge, Austin and Fredericksburg, TX. I loved seeing all of the rich golden greens and Burnt umber shrubs and Burnt Sienna Grasses. I can’t remember the winters of my childhood being so filled with color. I speculated that because of a recent hard freeze in the area there many more deep rich browns that I could recall in the past. I love taking photographs when I am traveling especially as sunset nears . The way the fields are lit up by the raking light is very exciting to see. In this post I am sharing a couple of images that have been altered in the Paper Camera App. I am really enjoying the way this app abstracts the landscape into simple shapes.

I find these photographs so visually exciting. I can’t wait to get the paint out and start a whole new body of work.

4 thoughts on “Winter Road Trip

  1. whitewall contemporary says:

    Nice! Xoxo

    Brenda Zappitell | Director Whitewall Contemporary 200 NE 2nd Ave Suite 102 Delray Beach, FL 33444 561.328.1363 http://www.whitewallcontemporary.com

    >

    Like

    1. Thank you Brenda!!!

      Like

  2. malloryagerton says:

    Love a road trip to enlarge your thinking and let your mind wander on creative paths.

    Like

    1. Great description of the benefits Mallory! Thank You!

      Like

Leave a comment